Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Shawnee Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Story image 1_0

$40,000 Technology Grant Awarded to SECC

More than $1.3 million in technology grants awarded to Oklahoma schools

Oklahoma Educational Technology Trust announces grant recipients

Students at 20 Oklahoma public schools will experience learning in new and innovative ways thanks to more than $1.3 million in grants from the Oklahoma Educational Technology Trust (OETT).   


Established to provide the latest technologies and teacher training to Oklahoma schools, OETT is awarding each of the 20 schools $40,000 to purchase new technology equipment.  Additionally, each school will receive professional development training valued at over $25,000. Each school will use the funds to purchase items including Apple iPads, Google Chromebooks, Microsoft Surface Tablets, and various robotics equipment.  Teachers will also receive monthly professional development focused on integrating technology to enhance authentic, real-world learning in their classrooms. 


The 20 schools receiving grants are:


  1. Apple Creek Elementary, Moore
  2. Bethany Middle School
  3. Calvin High School
  4. Carney Public Schools
  5. Elmore City – Pernell Public Schools
  6. Emerson Middle School, Enid
  7. Glenpool Elementary School
  8. Heritage Elementary, Edmond
  9. Heritage Trails Elementary, Moore
  10. Horace Mann Elementary, Duncan
  11. Hugo Public Schools
  12. Newcastle Public Schools
  13. Northern Hills Elementary, Edmond
  14. Perkins – Tryon Public Schools
  15. Poteau Primary
  16. Santa Fe South Pathways, Oklahoma City
  17. Shawnee Early Childhood Center
  18. Sweetwater Elementary
  19. Vian Middle School
  20. Wagoner High School


“Through the OETT grants, we are focused on creating long-term change in our schools,” said Bob Stafford, OETT Board of Trustees chair. “Our goal is to improve overall student achievement and learning through the use of technology.”


Since the grants were first awarded in 2003, a total of 289 Oklahoma schools have received OETT grants.  In addition, more than 10,000 teachers, principals and superintendents have received professional development training to assist their students with the new technology.


The mission of the Oklahoma Educational Technology Trust is to equip Oklahoma common school and CareerTech students with the technology and technological skills necessary to compete in the global marketplace. The Trust provides grants for equipment, infrastructure, leadership and professional development to implement and advance integration of technology into classroom instruction.


OETT was established in 2001 as a result of an agreement between then-attorney general, Drew Edmondson, and AT&T Oklahoma, relating to the company’s transition to a modernized form of regulation. As part of the agreement, AT&T contributed $30 million to OETT. While 63% of the original $30 million investment in OETT has been distributed, Trust assets have grown to over $36 million. The Trust has distributed over $22 million to date.


OETT is administered by Communities Foundation of Oklahoma and professional development is coordinated through the University of Oklahoma’s K20 Center.  For additional information, visit www.oett.org.